ARTICLE 3. ESTABLISHMENT OF DISTRICTS

Sec. 301. Districts established.

- A. *Districts:* For the purposes of this ordinance, Pike County is divided into districts for the purpose of establishing zoning regulations as follows:
 - 1. A-R Agricultural and residential
 - 2. RR Rural residential
 - 3. R-1 Single-family residential
 - 4. R-2 Single-family residential
 - 5. P-I Professional Institutional
 - 6. C-1 Highway commercial
 - 7. C-2 Neighborhood commercial
 - 8. C-3 Heavy commercial
 - 9. M-1 Manufacturing Light
 - 10. M-2 Manufacturing Heavy
- B. Overlay districts: In addition, overlay districts apply additional standards to specific areas which may lie within any of the above districts. Those districts are as follows:
 - 1. S-1 Sensitive land—Flood damage prevention
 - 2. S-2 Sensitive land—Watershed protection
 - 3. S-3 Sensitive land—Groundwater recharge protection
 - 4. S-4 Sensitive land—Wetlands
 - 5. S-5 Sensitive land—Flint River Corridor Protection Area
 - 6. Highway 19 and 41 Overlay district

Sec. 302. Districts explained.

- A. Districts are areas of land within Pike County to which different development requirements and standards are applied. These differences are intended to promote the separation of incompatible uses, encourage sound land use patterns, and retain the character of the community. Although this ordinance establishes the locations of districts as indicated on the official map, a district may be changed in the future in order to meet changing needs.
- B. In making the decision to change a district, the points contained in section 410, as well as Table 107 (A): Conversion of Previous Zoning Districts must be considered by the planning and zoning board as well as the board of commissioners.